Go Jackets!


ramblinwreckThis coming week I will be visiting Pasadena with my family. The Pasadena resident member, Chris, is a proud Georgia Tech graduate. While he is indeed a helluva engineer, one of the reasons he chose to go to Georgia Tech was because of the athletic tradition of the school, which despite its relatively small undergraduate student body (e.g. half the undergrads of U of Georgia, Virginia Tech, U of Maryland, Florida State), is an extremely storied one.

On the Saturday after Thanksgiving, GT and UGa play their annual grudge match. Going into the contest this year, GT is 8-3 and sitting precariously atop its division, with a chance to reach the ACC title game. Georgia is 9-2 but out of contention for the SEC title. For GT to win its division, on the 22nd Clemson must beat UVA and NC State must beat UNC; then UVA needs to beat Virginia Tech the next week. Pretty convoluted.

UPDATE 11/22:  Clemson beat UVa and NC State beat UNC! If Virginia Tech loses either this week to Duke or next week to UVa, GT is in the conference championship game!

But it all won’t matter if GT beats UGa. We’ll be home by then so Chris will probably be watching at his favorite watering hole, provided the game is telecast on the Left Coast.

ugagt1

I’m a Ramblin’ Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer,
A helluva, helluva, helluva, helluva, hell of an engineer,
Like all the jolly good fellows, I drink my whiskey clear,
I’m a Ramblin’ Wreck from Georgia Tech and a hell of an engineer.
Oh, if I had a daughter, sir, I’d dress her in White and Gold,
And put her on the campus, to cheer the brave and bold.
But if I had a son, sir, I’ll tell you what he’d do.
He would yell, “To Hell with Georgia,” like his daddy used to do.
Oh, I wish I had a barrel of rum and sugar three thousand pounds,
A college bell to put it in and a clapper to stir it around.
I’d drink to all good fellows who come from far and near.
I’m a ramblin’, gamblin’, hell of an engineer.

Go Jackets!

One Response to Go Jackets!

Leave a Reply

